Ruby on Rails: Take-1

January 4, 2006 at 7:45 pm Leave a comment

I downloaded two (1,2) great presentations yesterday. Although they looked more like a David Blaine commercial (in that everything was going fast, but you were not able to catch up with the on-screen magic), they gave the idea of what RoR is all about. And I really liked what I saw. I actually liked the Flickr presentation better, because it also showed that RoR is great for AJAX projects, which is something many people are trying to do.

Now, I still did not start doing anything with RoR, and I found out yesterday that I need two things to start:

1. Learn Ruby (and this I will continue doing later today with either this book (a weird one, with foxes, quirky style and illustrations, but might be easier to swallow😉 ) or this one (somewhat more formal). One thing I understood when I was trying to get into RoR yesterday, is that I do not feel Ruby well enough (well, I just started digging it yesterday), to be able to jump into RoR. You should also not forget that Ruby on Rails is a framework, basically a package built on Ruby. And Ruby (as I wrote before) is a well-respected and well known language, and being a new language for you it provides challenges – a basic knowledge of notations, philosophy and methods is a requirement.

2. Find a suitable IDE. This topic has proven quite complex, so it requires a separate post.

(to be continued)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

First Ruby code Ruby on Rails: Choice of IDE

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent posts

Starting to learn Rails?

Kindle

Get Kindle - the best e-book reader, that I personally use, and the only one that you can read on the beach - very useful: Kindle Wireless Reading Device (6" Display, Global Wireless, Latest Generation)

